<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?><rss version="2.0"
	xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
	xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"
	xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom"
	>
<channel>
	<title>Comments on: Dictated to by spammers - what have I done?</title>
	<atom:link href="http://www.akamarketing.com/blog/47-dictated-to-by-spammers-what-have-i-done.html/feed/" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />
	<link>http://www.akamarketing.com/blog/47-dictated-to-by-spammers-what-have-i-done.html</link>
	<description>Blogged thoughts, not just any other wordpress blog!</description>
	<pubDate>Fri, 29 Aug 2008 18:25:40 +0000</pubDate>
	<generator>http://wordpress.org/?v=2.6</generator>
		<item>
		<title>By: Richard</title>
		<link>http://www.akamarketing.com/blog/47-dictated-to-by-spammers-what-have-i-done.html#comment-778</link>
		<dc:creator>Richard</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Wed, 22 Nov 2006 09:09:21 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.akamarketing.com/blog/47-dictated-to-by-spammers-what-have-i-done.html#comment-778</guid>
		<description>New law in the States about this and it firmly comes down on the side of the publisher:

http://news.google.com/news?hl=en&#38;ned=us&#38;ie=UTF-8&#38;ncl=1111361938</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>New law in the States about this and it firmly comes down on the side of the publisher:</p>
<p><a href="http://news.google.com/news?hl=en&amp;ned=us&amp;ie=UTF-8&amp;ncl=1111361938" rel="nofollow">http://news.google.com/news?hl=en&amp;ned=us&amp;ie=UTF-8&amp;ncl=1111361938</a></p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: David Callan</title>
		<link>http://www.akamarketing.com/blog/47-dictated-to-by-spammers-what-have-i-done.html#comment-777</link>
		<dc:creator>David Callan</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Wed, 22 Nov 2006 09:03:19 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.akamarketing.com/blog/47-dictated-to-by-spammers-what-have-i-done.html#comment-777</guid>
		<description>Hi Richard there was nothing defamatory or disparaging about the comments at all, they were just said to be 'inaccurate', I think I'm just going to put the thing to bed and forget about it. 

Mucker does bring up a good point about the boards.ie issue, boardsGate if ya will (sorry for that....). I remember reading about this on boards.ie back closer to the time it all came about, slipped my mind recently though. What' the latest on that? timeframe? 

Interesting precedent indeed, could really shake things up. Hosting365 hosts boards I believe, if a legal case is going ahead then hosting365 must be backing boards, if this is the case this is quite unusual as usually hosts will back down at the slightest hint of trouble.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Hi Richard there was nothing defamatory or disparaging about the comments at all, they were just said to be &#8216;inaccurate&#8217;, I think I&#8217;m just going to put the thing to bed and forget about it. </p>
<p>Mucker does bring up a good point about the boards.ie issue, boardsGate if ya will (sorry for that&#8230;.). I remember reading about this on boards.ie back closer to the time it all came about, slipped my mind recently though. What&#8217; the latest on that? timeframe? </p>
<p>Interesting precedent indeed, could really shake things up. Hosting365 hosts boards I believe, if a legal case is going ahead then hosting365 must be backing boards, if this is the case this is quite unusual as usually hosts will back down at the slightest hint of trouble.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: Mucker</title>
		<link>http://www.akamarketing.com/blog/47-dictated-to-by-spammers-what-have-i-done.html#comment-772</link>
		<dc:creator>Mucker</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Tue, 21 Nov 2006 17:39:25 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.akamarketing.com/blog/47-dictated-to-by-spammers-what-have-i-done.html#comment-772</guid>
		<description>Dunno about the States, but the law regarding material posted on web forums is untested here in Ireland at the moment. That could well be about to change though with MCD taking legal action against boards.ie for comments some of their users made about oxygen. It could make for a very interesting precedent!</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Dunno about the States, but the law regarding material posted on web forums is untested here in Ireland at the moment. That could well be about to change though with MCD taking legal action against boards.ie for comments some of their users made about oxygen. It could make for a very interesting precedent!</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: Richard</title>
		<link>http://www.akamarketing.com/blog/47-dictated-to-by-spammers-what-have-i-done.html#comment-762</link>
		<dc:creator>Richard</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Mon, 20 Nov 2006 09:57:45 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.akamarketing.com/blog/47-dictated-to-by-spammers-what-have-i-done.html#comment-762</guid>
		<description>I wonder whether they had instigated some SEO previously (read 'spamming'), subsequently found that their inbound link profile was pretty shitty (perhaps even found it was hurting their rankings), and now want t remove some of those links?

Of course, this being the case, you would think that a nice email would do the trick.

If the posts made no defamatory or disparaging remarks about said company, I would be inclined to request that they outline the reasons for the takedown request.

You could even call send them back something along the lines of 'counter-suit'.

These things are very annoying...</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>I wonder whether they had instigated some SEO previously (read &#8217;spamming&#8217;), subsequently found that their inbound link profile was pretty shitty (perhaps even found it was hurting their rankings), and now want t remove some of those links?</p>
<p>Of course, this being the case, you would think that a nice email would do the trick.</p>
<p>If the posts made no defamatory or disparaging remarks about said company, I would be inclined to request that they outline the reasons for the takedown request.</p>
<p>You could even call send them back something along the lines of &#8216;counter-suit&#8217;.</p>
<p>These things are very annoying&#8230;</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: David Callan</title>
		<link>http://www.akamarketing.com/blog/47-dictated-to-by-spammers-what-have-i-done.html#comment-760</link>
		<dc:creator>David Callan</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Mon, 20 Nov 2006 09:43:09 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.akamarketing.com/blog/47-dictated-to-by-spammers-what-have-i-done.html#comment-760</guid>
		<description>Hi guys sorry for the late reply, my broadband is still down at home so only seeing these messages now. I actually had a couple of spare hours on saturday and thus I started reading the da vinci code.

Thank for the thoughts on this though folks, the site is hosted in the States for the moment anyhow, considering switching to blacknight in the near future though.

I don't want to land myself in more 'hot water' and thus I won't mention names or anything like that but Richard you have pretty much got the grasp of it. There was no links back to this company however just references to their company name, so basically third parties spammed my board lets say they where called companyA, in their efforts to promote themselves they claimed to have done work for companyB. It was then companyB who sent in the legal threats to me. On the phone the way companyB referred to companyA made me think they were affiliated, so although it was not companyA spamming directly, I believe the spamming was endorsed by them.

I also thought it strange that they would ask for a number as opposed to just sending me whatever legal document is sent in these circumstances.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Hi guys sorry for the late reply, my broadband is still down at home so only seeing these messages now. I actually had a couple of spare hours on saturday and thus I started reading the da vinci code.</p>
<p>Thank for the thoughts on this though folks, the site is hosted in the States for the moment anyhow, considering switching to blacknight in the near future though.</p>
<p>I don&#8217;t want to land myself in more &#8216;hot water&#8217; and thus I won&#8217;t mention names or anything like that but Richard you have pretty much got the grasp of it. There was no links back to this company however just references to their company name, so basically third parties spammed my board lets say they where called companyA, in their efforts to promote themselves they claimed to have done work for companyB. It was then companyB who sent in the legal threats to me. On the phone the way companyB referred to companyA made me think they were affiliated, so although it was not companyA spamming directly, I believe the spamming was endorsed by them.</p>
<p>I also thought it strange that they would ask for a number as opposed to just sending me whatever legal document is sent in these circumstances.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
</channel>
</rss>
